RECEPTION AND PRESENTATION OF AWARDS FOR TASMANIAN RECIPIENTS ON BEHALF OF THE AUSTRALIAN ACADEMY OF SCIENCE REMARKS BY

HER EXCELLENCY THE HONOURABLE BARBARA BAKER AC GOVERNOR OF TASMANIA BALL ROOM, TUESDAY 21 SEPTEMBER 2021

Good evening everyone. I welcome you all to Government House for the presentation of awards for our Australian Academy of Science.

I begin by paying my respects to the traditional and original owners of this land—the palawa people. I acknowledge the contemporary Tasmanian Aboriginal community, who have survived invasion and dispossession, and who continue to maintain their identity, culture and Indigenous rights.

I understand that COVID restrictions have meant that none of the usual Academy staff or office holders have been able to travel to Tasmania for these presentations. Nevertheless, I would like to acknowledge Dr Steven Rintoul, representing the Academy and, in particular, our two award recipients, Dr Rebecca Carey and Professor John Church. I also acknowledge a recently admitted Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science, Professor Barbara Nowak.

The Australian Academy of Science provides independent, authoritative and influential scientific advice, promotes international scientific engagement, builds public awareness and understanding of science, and champions, celebrates and supports excellence in Australian science.

The Australian Academy of Science is a not-for-profit organisation of individuals elected for their outstanding contributions to science and research. It was founded on 16 February 1954 by Australian Fellows of the Royal Society of London. The distinguished physicist, Sir Mark Oliphant, was the founding President. A Royal Charter was granted establishing the Academy as an independent body with government endorsement.

The Academy's Constitution was modelled on that of the Royal Society of London. The Academy receives government grants towards some of its activities but has no statutory obligation to government.

The Academy strives to support and promote science through a range of programs and activities. One of those activities is the recognition and support of outstanding contributions to the advancement of science at the early, mid and career level. Career Awards recognise life-long scientific achievement.

Tonight, we recognise two outstanding researchers. You will hear more of their achievements as the citations for their awards are read later. The awards are being presented for their significant work.

The Dorothy Hill Medal is an Early Career Honorific Award and honours the contributions of the late Professor Dorothy Hill to Australian Earth science and her work in opening up tertiary science education to women. Professor Hill became Australia's first woman professor in 1959. She was Professor of Geology at the University of Queensland. She also became the first Australian woman Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science (1956), and of the Royal Society of London (1965). She was also the first woman president of the Australian Academy of Science (1970). I was very impressed to learn that she was also a state hockey player! The award supports research in the Earth sciences, by women researchers up to 10 years post PhD in the calendar year of nomination.

The 2020 recipient of the Dorothy Hill Medal is Dr Rebecca Carey. She is internationally recognised for her research in volcanology and has contributed significantly to the understanding of eruption and hydrothermal processes on land and on the seafloor.

The Jaeger Medal is a Career Honorific award made in honour of the contribution of the late Professor John Conrad Jaeger to Australian Earth science. The award is made to a scientist for investigations of a high order into the solid Earth or its oceans carried out in Australia or having some connection with Australian Earth science.

The 2021 recipient, Professor John Church, is one of Australia's leading oceanographers who has engaged in both theoretical and observational work on the dynamics of the oceans.

I am delighted to be able to participate in these presentations and celebrations of excellence in science on behalf of the Australian Academy of Science.

David (OS announces recipients x 2 and reads citations)

I would now like to invite you all to join with me and my husband and our two recipients to enjoy the reception this evening.

Thank you